Website Navigation for Screen Readers

Cross-Institutional Student Advisory Committee


The Johns Hopkins Cross-Institutional Student Advisory Committee (CSAC) is a university-wide advisory body that serves as a consultative body and forum for undergraduate and graduate students from each of Johns Hopkins University’s nine student-enrolling divisions to discuss academic and co-curricular matters of broad interest to the university community. CSAC provides a channel for students to offer, and the university administration to solicit, advice and counsel on the university’s mission and for communication between and among students and the university administration. The work of the CSAC should complement but not duplicate the work of other student committees such as the Student Advisory Committee on Public Safety, PhD Advisory Committee, etc.


The CSAC will comprise seventeen students representing undergraduate and graduate students from all nine JHU schools. Eleven of the seventeen students will be selected to represent the following student governance groups from a nomination and application process: 

  • Bloomberg School of Public Health (BSPH): Student Assembly
  • Carey Business School (CBS): Student Advocacy Council
  • Krieger School of Arts and Sciences (KSAS): Graduate Representative Organization (GRO)
  • Peabody (PY): Peabody General Assembly
  • School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS): Student Government Association (SGA)
  • School of Education (SOE): Will be appointed by SOE and transition to a representative from the SOE Board once established.
  • School of Medicine (SOM): Graduate Student Association (GSA)
  • School of Medicine (SOM): Medical Student Association
  • School of Nursing (SON): Nursing Student Senate
  • Whiting School of Engineering (WSE): Graduate Representative Organization (GRO)
  • Undergraduate Student Government Association (SGA)
  • Undergraduate Multicultural Leadership Council (MLC)

The remaining student members shall be selected from the student body at-large via an annual application process.  At least two of the five shall be undergraduate students.

The Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Senior Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, and Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education shall serve ex officio with no voting rights on the CSAC.  Their collective role is to convene the committee and serve as communication conduits to the President, the Provost, and school leadership.

Spring 2024 Members

Rayut BerkowitzSONNursing Student Senate Representative
Angelora Castellano ‘25SAISAt-Large Graduate
Ying-Yu (Ashley) ChenSOMGraduate Student Association Representative
Rhianna ChungCBSAt-Large Graduate
Shawntel CollinsSOESOE Representative
Luke HartlineCBSStudent Advocacy Council Representative
Olivia Hatcher ‘25KSASAt-Large Undergraduate
Clara Lim ‘25KSASMulticultural Leadership Council Representative
Jackson Morris ‘25WSEUndergraduate Student Government Association Representative
Emma Rose ’25KSASAt-Large Undergraduate
Monica Saddique ’25SAISSAIS Student Government Association Representative
Jaiden WettsteinPY/KSASPeabody General Assembly Representative
Michael WilkinsonWSEGraduate Representative Organization Representative
Esther XuWSEGraduate Representative Organization Representative
Victor Yang ’25SOMMedical Student Association Representative


Rachelle Hernandez, Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Janet Schreck, Senior Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Sabine Stanley, Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education

Website Footer Navigation