Website Navigation for Screen Readers

Middle States Institutional Self-Study 2023

Johns Hopkins University is engaged in a comprehensive, institutional reaccreditation self-study. This is an opportunity to reflect on institutional successes and to identify strategies for continued improvement. The culmination of this self-study process results in reaffirmation of the institution’s accreditation.

Self-Study Objectives

  1. Demonstrate how the institution meets the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation and Requirements of Affiliation.
  2. Assess and analyze the university’s broad successes that support its mission and goals and identify opportunities to advance the mission and goals/priorities.
  3. Evaluate the effectiveness of recently implemented undergraduate education and student service initiatives, identifying both successes and opportunities for enhancement, and the institutional support from which they would benefit.

Johns Hopkins University’s Self-Study, following a standards-based approach, will address the following priorities:

  1. Over the past five years, JHU has invested significant resources to improve its undergraduate experience reflecting the 10×20 Individual Excellence initiative. The Second Commission on Undergraduate Education (CUE2), supported by the Bloomberg gift, reflects this priority and focuses on improving access and affordability, including the creation of initiatives to support student success, retention, and graduation. The self-study should assess and evaluate these initiatives’ success and identify potential opportunities for improvement. (MSCHE standards I, III, IV, V, VI, VII)
  2. JHU has also focused significant resources into the “one university” 10×20 initiative via the Student Services Excellence Initiative (SSEI).  The self-study should evaluate the success of the SSEI initiative in improving the student experience. (MSCHE Standards I, IV, VI, VII)

Self-Study Steering Committee

The Self-Study Steering Committee will provide updates regarding the Self-Study via this page and other communications. The Steering Committee constitutes the Executive Committee and the co-chairs of each Working Group.

The Self-Study Executive Committee will lead coordination of the re-accreditation Self-Study.

  • Douglas Mao, Russ Family Professor in the Humanities, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Janet Schreck, Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Accreditation Liaison Officer, Office of the Provost

Working Group One: Mission and Goals & Governance, Leadership & Administration

  • Stephen Gange, Executive Vice Provost and Professor, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Paul Pineau, Vice President and General Counsel

Working Group Two: Ethics and Integrity

  • Katrina Caldwell, Vice Provost & Chief Diversity Officer, Office of the Provost
  • Jen Calhoun, Assistant Vice Provost, Student Affairs, Office of the Provost

Working Group Three: Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience

  • Michael Falk, Professor and Vice Dean Undergraduate Education, Whiting School of Engineering
  • Bertrand Garcia-Moreno, Professor and Vice Dean for Natural Science, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Working Group Four: Support of the Student Experience

  • Christine Kavanagh, Associate Dean Graduate & Post-Doctoral Affairs, Whiting School of Engineering
  • Kevin Shollenberger, Vice Provost for Student Health & Well-Being, Office of the Provost

Working Group Five: Educational Effectiveness Assessment

  • Chadia Abras, Director Institutional Assessment, Office of the Provost
  • Paul Mathews, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Peabody Institute

Working Group Six: Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement

  • Helene Grady, Vice President, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer, Office of the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration
  • Bob McLean, Vice President Facilities & Real Estate, Office of the Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration

Working Group Seven: Report on Compliance with Accreditation Relevant Federal Regulations

Accreditation Status

Details of Johns Hopkins University’s MSCHE Accreditation are available from the Statement of Accreditation Status.

Self-Study Timeline

The process includes three phases:
Self-Study Design: January to June 2022
Self-Study Process: June 2022 to May 2023
Evaluation Team Site Visit: Fall 2023

The MSCHE reaffirmation decision will be available in Winter 2023.

For more details, view the Self-Study 2023 Timeline (PDF).

Reaccreditation Self-Study

Contact information

Please direct Self-Study feedback to [email protected].

Website Footer Navigation