Website Navigation for Screen Readers

Senior Faculty Transition Program

The Johns Hopkins University Senior Faculty Transition Program is a voluntary, limited, one-time incentive program being offered by participating JHU Schools to eligible full-time tenured faculty.  Faculty who elect to participate in the Transition Program will receive a financial incentive package designed to facilitate and support their transition from employment with the University. 

The Incentive Package includes:

  • incentive payment of 100% of a participant’s academic base annual salary,
  • transition cost incentive,
  • healthcare incentive payment,
  • Medicare/Medigap exchange counseling benefit,
  • and Academy at Johns Hopkins membership eligibility. 

Key Dates

Eligible faculty who participate may select a retirement date that falls at any time between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2022, and must completely retire by June 30, 2022. 

  • April 2021 – Program enrollment begins. Program is announced and letters are mailed to eligible faculty. Eligible and interested faculty are encouraged to start developing their transition plan and submit an election form for a program start date no sooner than July 1, 2021.
  • July 1, 2021 – Program participation begins (the earliest possible date). The faculty member will sign the first Transition Program agreement prior to starting the Transition Program.
  • May 1, 2022 – Program enrollment ends. All eligible faculty who voluntarily elect to participate in program must submit an election form on or before May 1, 2022.
  • June 30, 2022 – Program participation ends. All eligible faculty who voluntarily participate in the program must retire from the University on or before June 30, 2022. After retirement, faculty sign a second Transition Program agreement.

Who is Eligible?

Program participants must meet all of the following requirements to be eligible:

  • Must be age 67 or older by July 1, 2021.
  • Must have at least ten years of full-time continuous service to the University at the time of eligibility
  • Must be full-time full professors (tenured faculty or faculty in the School of Medicine with a contract to retirement) employed at one of the following schools: Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Bloomberg School of Public Health, the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the Whiting School of Engineering, the Carey School of Business and the School for Advanced International Studies;
  • Must be in good standing.

Learn More & Apply

Faculty who wish to participate in the Transition Program should contact Jennifer Van Beek, Program Manager at

  • Contact

    Office of the Provost

    265 Garland Hall
    3400 North Charles Street
    Baltimore, Maryland 21218
    Phone: (410) 516-8070
    Fax: (410) 516-8035


  • Contact Us

  • Website Footer Navigation